Cartoon Competition

Cease and Desist!

Cease and Desist!

Over the last couple of weeks we’ve been dealing with some pretty heavy stuff. I figured it’s time for some light relief: our Dave is a cartoonist, so what could be more fitting than a Cartoon Competition?

Here’s the scenario: you’ve just come back from holiday (I wonder who that might be) and you find someone’s slapped your toilet with a “Cistern Disease: Do Not Flush” notice. Do you:

  1. Wait a while, keep your legs crossed and hope the smell doesn’t get too bad?
  2. Call a plumber and get a new loo fitted?
  3. Nip next door and use the neighbour’s?
  4. Call in the professional toilet cleaners?
  5. Lift the lid and flush it away regardless?

I’m sure you can think of some other possibilities. Get drawing, people: I want to see how this one pans out!!

ASBO Jesus :: asingleblog :: lingamish :: and all you other arty types: your call! Hey, there might even be a prize: still working on that one; but what better prize than to know that you’ve contributed to the final destruction of the dreaded C&D notice??

Post your cartoon on your own blog and leave a comment here to let me know, please.

Can’t draw? No worries: borrow one of these photos and do something appropriate with it in your photo editing package…

Competition closes when we get an entry from Dave Walker!

A Case Study
Cease and Desist Letters, and a Case Study from Brewer and Pritchard P.C. (bplaw.com)

Where Next?
If you’ve received a C&D, before you flush it away, consider submitting it to the Chilling Effects Clearinghouse. That’s where mine have gone now…

Just One Entry So Far…

Cistern Disease

Cistern Disease

15 responses to “Cartoon Competition

  1. Pingback: Cartoon Competition | Kouya Chronicle

  2. I can’t draw – but I’ve given you a link!

  3. 8) I’ll give it a try…

  4. I think I’d go for #5 (flush anyway) after putting the lid back down!

    As an aside, this reminds me of ’03 when I traveled ‘cross the pond, and saw a sign in the Men’s @ the Tower of London proclaiming “Loo of the Year Award”!…

    Which had a cracked and taped piece of plexi covering it….

  5. that’ll be a couple of weeks waiting then, DW’s just gone on holiday! Plenty of time to put pen to paper. Or toilet seat. Or whatever your preferred medium.

  6. So lots of cartoons, hopefully, to tell the world what we think of C&D’s!! Just flush ’em away, people, flush ’em away. After sending them in to Chilling Effects first of course: mine are headed that way very soon now…

  7. Phil, my cartooning skills are simply inadequate. I would, however, like to pass along this possible medical definition for Cistern Disease:

    Cistern Disease: An often deadly condition that involves acute *diarrhea of the mouth* (or by extension the pen or word-processor) coupled with a severe *constipation of the brain*. People who have the disease are carriers. It’s the people around them who do the actual suffering; they experience a chilling effect.

  8. Love it, Anne. No I don’t, I hate it! Heck, you know what I mean!! 😉

  9. I finally figured out what else has been bothering me, Phil. Since I’m in such a mood this evening, I might as well lay it all out:

    That was a nice, homey touch on the part of Mr. Brewer, where he advised you to consult your solicitor. Shows he’s really trying to pick up y’all’s lingo over there. We don’t have solicitors here. People who solicit here are generally rounded up by the vice cops.

    It made me think of the movie version of that wonderful old book, “Murder on the Orient Express.” Inspector Poirot exposed one of the women as an impostor because she contemplated calling her lawyers long distance. Poirot reasoned that if she had been a genuine Englishwoman, she’d have contemplated placing a trunk call to her solicitors.

    I have personally just finished reading a book by P.D. James in which a barrister is murdered. So now I kind of know what a barrister is. We don’t have those, either. We do have baristas, and they do a fine job of serving us our coffee at Starbuck’s.

    Must sleep soon. Sorry…generally a night’s sleep cures me of the compulsion to make awful jokes.

  10. Pingback: BenGallagher.com » Blog Archive » Cistern Disease

  11. My attempt can be found here:
    http://www.bengallagher.com/blog/2008/08/cistern-disease/

    Slightly irreverant, I think.

  12. Pingback: Better than a Cartoon? Private Eye! « SPCK/SSG: News, Notes & Info

  13. Fiddlesticks. I forgot. Been kinda busy…excuses…excuses… (I like Ben’s sheep)

  14. No worries, David – the competition’s still open and will remain open until (as I said somewhere above) we get an entry from Dave Walker…

  15. Pingback: Cistern Disease: Cartoon Competition Still Open « SPCK/SSG: News, Notes & Info

Leave a Reply

