Ask, sheep, knock …

Matt Wardman writes:

I am just coming up to my first anniversary as a contributor to the scrutiny of the rundown of the former-SPCK bookshops by Messers Brewer, Shyster and Brewer.

For a long time a lot of people felt like this:

Gerald the Sheep - Lost and Found

Gerald the Sheep - Lost and Found

Followers of this blog will know that things have moved forward in the last several months in some aspects, and we are now in this sort of position, attempting to untangle a gooey mess with prickles:

120709-gerald-the-sheep-sticky-toffee-pudding

Hopefully certain people will end up feeling like this:

120709-gerald-the-sheep-expenses-account

Now off to do some work.

(And I hear that Geraldthesheep.com is on its way.)

16 responses to “Ask, sheep, knock …

  1. Valiant for Truth

    Thanks, Matt, for joining the fray. You’ve been a good campaigner and it’s been nice to have someone on board who approached the situation from a non-partisan view point but still realised the horror of it all. Good to have got to know you. \let’s hope that before too long we can all blog about different and better things.

  2. 😉

  3. I’d like to stop blogging and get my life back again. I’ll always look up Gerald the sheep though. I can’t stop my face from contorting when I see him.

  4. mattwardman2000

    The headline actually came from The Winebibber circa 1984, which had a cartoon strip “Fisher of Socks”.

    One frame was “Ask, Seek, Sock”.

  5. mattwardman2000

    What do you suppose it is the background of the 3rd cartoon?

    I’m tempted to say duck house or 4th Plinth, but it could be something Old Testament that I’ve forgotten about.

    ???

  6. Hyperactive Matt Wardman. Don’t know where Phil Groom found him 😉

  7. The Winebibber! What a great comic that was. I still treasure my Big Holy One, and some back issues I picked up at Greenbelt back in the days when I didn’t realise what a cesspit of liberal immorality it was.

    ASBO: don’t blame Phil, blame me.

    21st July coming up soon folks. One year on from the C&D and we’re still talking, but the Brewers are the ones who have gone quiet.

    • I accept no liability for anything other than those things for which I am responsible and even then I wouldn’t want to put any money on it.

      David, Matt, y’all: lights shining in the darkness: thank you.

      J Mark and Phil W Brewer: you gentlemen are crooks, shysters and sociopaths. May God have more mercy upon your souls than I would in his (or her) position.

  8. 😉 Methinks we shut them up.

  9. y’all? That’s dead wrong. 🙂

  10. Methinks they’ve gone quiet because they want to stay off the Charity Commissioners radar. Anything else you want to say about them Phil? You seemed rather restrained in that last comment….

  11. David, they’ve gone quiet because , “anything you say might be held against you in a Court of Law”. The Brothers are stuffed animals. Not the kind I would send children to bed with.

    Anything Phil Groom wants to say about them would warrant an ASBO.

  12. Phil Groom, how could you call the Brewers “Gentlemen”??

    • It’s what’s commonly known as the lowest form of wit; ultimately, however, even they are not beyond the grace of God, and I dare to live in hope that grace may yet turn them away from their destructive path.

  13. Valiant for Truth

    Reading the “Church Times” today about a Christian charity being refused permission to purchase a redundant church in Manchester, makes one ponder on the fact that the Brothers Brewer not only fooled SPCK into handing over 23 bookshops, but also the Church Commissioners and two English Dioceses into selling churches to them. Beware Americans bearing gifts.

  14. And the Charity Commission who now have on their hands the church in Bradford that the Brewer’s were trying to sell.

Leave a Reply

