From Chester With Sympathy

Phil Groom writes:

Thanks to our intrepid photographer (you know who you are) for these latest pictures from Chester:

Chester's Christian Bookshop, 25th Feb 2009 - trading as...

Chester's Christian Bookshop, 25th Feb 2009 - trading as...

... trading as... don't look too closely now...

... trading as... don't look too closely at those stickers now...

50% off, according to the sale notices; but would you pay as much as half-price for books in this condition? Personally I’d say even asking 50p each would be a bit much; but perhaps greetings cards are more reasonably priced?

"I said I needed a VAT receipt and this is what they gave me..."

"I said I needed a VAT receipt and this is what they gave me..."

The only other information on the receipt is a signature, which I’ve cropped off the bottom. I’m told that the staff were very apologetic and are evidently doing their best under the circumstances: no blame attaches to them; just plenty of sympathy needed…

Despite requests to ‘Head Office’ the tills have apparently been out of use since Trading Standards visited a few weeks ago — here’s a reminder of how things were Shopping in Chester in January:

Chester Till Receipt and Bag, January 2009

Chester Till Receipt and Bag, January 2009

Now, what’s this rumour I hear of a sudden bout of stocktaking in all the shops?

6 responses to “From Chester With Sympathy

  1. Over the past few weeks you`ve discussed:
    Chester
    Exeter
    Sheffield
    Salisbury
    Initial letters spell CESS and are all part of the CESSPIT of Brewer activity.

  2. Valiant for Truth

    It’s heartbreaking to see a once excellent bookshop become an apology for the Christian message of Good News. I’ve heard the same rumour about all of the shops having to do a computer stock take last Friday. Necessary information re submitting accounts to Charities Commission et al, or something more sinister such as a “company” valuation prior to…

  3. I understand that an investigator from Trading Standards has written to both Brewers and are keeping a very close eye on the situation…..
    I also share VfT’s concern re the sudden stock take..

  4. An apology, VfT? A travesty is more like it, an absolute atrocity. Christ crucified once again — by his own people; but nothing new there, I guess…

  5. I have moved to Worcester in the last couple of weeks and we popped ito what must be the former SPCK bookshop there. Downstairs was in pretty good nick – shelves full of stock, but nothing looking like it was new stock. My wife commented on a couple of really old items.

    Upstairs was a range of second hand books along with many empty shelves. I also found what must have been the old SPCK sign that would have hung outside the shop. I didn’t enquire as to whether the sign was for sale or not!!

  6. Phelim McIntyre

    Was told last night that one of the people attempting to run one of the shops had a few days off after Christmas and then was off ill. Since coming back thay have been told by PB that they can not have anymore time off until the shop is on a firm financial footing! Like never then.

Leave a Reply

