A Psalm for Thursday

Time to Pray

Phil Groom writes:

For my not-quite-daily prayers I use Church House Publishing‘s Time to Pray: it’s an excellent and very handy little prayer book, just right for someone like me whose mind tends to wander all over the place as I wander into work each day. I find the structure and discipline of following a fixed pattern of prayer is precisely what my chaotic and caffeine-laced mind needs; and yes, I count myself fortunate to have a job to go to, unlike many of those for whom I offer this Psalm, those whose employment tribunals are coming up on Thursday this week.

It also strikes me as highly appropriate that for this post I am drawing on a book published by Church House Publishing, one of the publishers (alongside SPCK themselves, of course) whom I believe the collapse of the SPCK bookshops has hit the hardest.

Today, being Tuesday (albeit not for much longer: I’m writing this at 10.30pm), one of the set readings is Psalm 17:1-8. It struck me as highly appropriate for Thursday’s hearings and I took the liberty of rephrasing it slightly in my prayers this morning, turning it from the singular to the plural, from the past to the present… and yes, a few more liberties. Hit the link above for the unadulterated text if such things worry you. I offer it again for all of us now:

Refrain: Deliver us, O Lord, by your hand.

1  Hear our just cause, O Lord; consider our complaint; 
 listen to our prayer, which comes not from lying lips.

2  Let our vindication come forth from your presence; 
 let your eyes behold what is right.

3  Weigh our hearts, examine us by night, 
 refine us, and you will find no impurity in us.

Deliver us, O Lord, by your hand.

4  May our mouths not trespass for earthly rewards; 
 may we heed the words of your lips.

5  May our footsteps hold fast in the ways of your commandments; 
 may our feet not stumble in your paths.

Deliver us, O Lord, by your hand.

6  We call upon you, O God: will you answer us? 
 Incline your ear to us, and listen to our words.

7  Show us your marvellous loving-kindness, 
 O Saviour of those who take refuge at your right hand
   from those who rise up against them.

8  Keep us as the apple of your eye; 
 hide us under the shadow of your wings.

Deliver us, O Lord, by your hand.

The problem with such a prayer, of course, is that the Brewers are likely to be offering similar prayers, thinking of us as their enemies, rising up against them. That’s perhaps one of the saddest aspects of this whole business, that they too believe themselves to be serving God. It’s enough to make a grown man weep; and I do.

If you can, then, pray not with bitterness, pray not for vengeance, but rather for peace and justice…

Finally: Mark and Philip Brewer, if you happen to read this: once again, I assure you of my prayers: may you find the grace to respond generously to those whom you have wronged; and if you cannot find that grace of your own free will, may the courts help you find your way…

2 responses to “A Psalm for Thursday

  1. It is hard to understand how anyone can consider themselves to be doing the will of the God, (who is revealed in scripture to be love) whilst all the while treating employees, suppliers, customers etc with complete contempt !! (yet another futile attempt to get inside the minds of the Brewer’s). But I take your point Phil, and to your final words I say a hearty Amen.

  2. I agree
    Thank you Phil, for all your support

Leave a Reply

